Corporate Vehicle Observatory

Arval’s Own Independent Think Tank

The Corporate Vehicle Observatory -- Arval's think tank -- was founded in 2002 in France and deployed across 16 Arval countries. The observatory produces an annual barometer analysing industry trends when it comes to fleets, vehicles and mobility across 16 countries. CVO is:

  • completely independent
  • composed of panels of international experts
  • focused on industry trends.
     

We will be happy to provide you with the current study free of charge.
 

DOWNLOAD CVO FLEET BAROMETER 2017

Fleet Barometer 2017: important findings

The Fleet Barometer 2017 was another milestone and was expanded both in scope as well as in the catalogue of questions vis-à-vis the previous years. In total, 3847 interviews were carried out, 3540 in Europe and 297 in Switzerland. The interviews were distributed equally across the four sectors of construction, manufacturing, services and commerce and also across the four company size categories of up to 10 employees, 11 to 99 employees, 100 to 499 employees and 500 and more employees. The most important findings from the 2017 survey are listed below.



Considering how long it usually takes to amend company car guidelines, the speed and strength of purpose with which companies have reacted to the diesel emissions scandal is more than just impressive. In Switzerland, 26% of the big-fleet guidelines have already been adjusted to the new situation compared to a 14% European average.



No modern economy would be able to maintain its current prosperity level if the mobility of goods and people were inhibited. (Asked whether they expect their company fleets to grow or shrink over the next three years, the fleet professionals in Switzerland specified +4 on balance versus +11 for the rest of Europe; on balance = the difference between anticipated growth and shrink figures.)



This is not about banning cars, this is about intelligent and sustainable mobility (the CO2 footprint is a factor in the sustainability strategies of 55% of all Swiss companies in Switzerland that engage in corporate social responsibility programmes), and leasing companies as mobility providers are a part of the solution. (Whilst hybrid vehicles feature in 26% and plug-in hybrids in 20% of the fleets, trending down, electric vehicles feature in 33% of all company fleets in Switzerland.)



In future, fleet managers will be as familiar with terms such as SEAMless mobility (Shared, Electric, Autonomous Mobility), MaaS (Mobility as a Service) and modally agnostic (not required to use a specific means of transport) as they are today with ABS, injection pump and cylinder head. 29% of all company fleets in Switzerland are planning to introduce, or have already introduced, an alternative to the traditional company car (car sharing, bicycle sharing, mobility budget).



Telematics has yet to shake off its reputation as a 'big brother' system, the all-seeing eye, so to speak. However, telematics systems can significantly enhance safety, help recover stolen vehicles, and contribute to smooth maintenance scheduling without the need for an activated location function. Telematics systems are only used in 10% of all company vehicles in Switzerland compared to 20% in the rest of Europe.



The notion that employees no longer see company cars as an important perquisite is the subject of much discussion. The opposite is true. Company cars can be a valuable incentive when it comes to retaining good employees and recruiting new talent (59% effective for top managers, 56% for executive staff, 48% for young talent).



The above-average length of time that vehicles remain in a company fleet is an obstacle to the early introduction of environment-friendly technologies. Markets with a high incidence of operating leasing make especially effective use of the potential provided by efficient and ecological drive technologies. (In Switzerland, vehicles remain in a company fleet for 7.1 years on average before they are sold off compared to 5.9 years for the rest of Europe. Moreover, the readiness to exploit the potential of operating leasing is hardly pronounced in Switzerland – a low 15% versus 24% in the rest of Europe.)



Do you have any questions about the CVO? We will be happy to provide you with information in person.


Malte Lindberg
Head of Consulting & CVO

malte.lindberg@arval.ch

Corporate Vehicle Observatory

Arvals eigener, unabhängiger Think Tank

Corporate Vehicle Observatory – Arvals Think Tank – wurde 2002 in Frankreich gegründet und ist in 16 Arval-Ländern aktiv. Das Zentrum legt jedes Jahr ein Flottenbarometer vor, das die Branchentrends in den Bereichen Fahrzeugflotten, Fahrzeuge und Mobilität in diesen 16 Ländern analysiert. Der CVO

  • ist vollkommen unabhängig
  • setzt sich aus einem Forum internationaler Experten zusammen
  • fokussiert sich auf die Trends in der Branche
     

Gerne stellen wir Ihnen die aktuelle Studie kostenlos zur Verfügung.

 

DOWNLOAD CVO FLOTTENBAROMETER 2017

Flottenbarometer 2017: Wichtigste Erkenntnisse

Das Flottenbarometer 2017 war wieder ein Meilenstein und wurde sowohl im Umfang als auch im Fragenkatalog nochmals gegenüber den Vorjahren erweitert. So wurden insgesamt 3847 Interviews geführt, davon 3540 in Europa und 297 in der Schweiz. Die Interviews verteilten sich dabei gleichmässig über die vier Sektoren Bau, verarbeitende Industrie, Dienstleistung und Handel als auch über die vier Firmengrössenklassen bis 10 Mitarbeiter, 11 bis 99 Mitarbeiter, 100 bis 499 Mitarbeiter und 500 und mehr Mitarbeiter. Die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse aus der Befragung 2017 Befragung sind untenstehend aufgeführt.



Wenn man weiss, wie lange üblicherweise Anpassungen an Firmenwagenrichtlinien dauern, ist die Konsequenz und Geschwindigkeit, mit der Firmen auf den Dieselskandal reagiert haben, mehr als eindrücklich. So haben 26% der grossen Flotten in der Schweiz bereits Konsequenzen gezogen versus 14% im europäischen Durchschnitt.
 



Ohne Mobilität von Menschen und Gütern kann keine moderne Volkswirtschaft ihren derzeitigen Wohlstand aufrechterhalten. (Ob Firmenflotten in den nächsten drei Jahren wachsen werden, beantworten Firmenflottenbetreiber in der Schweiz als Saldo mit +4 versus +11 ihrer Kollegen in Europa; Saldo = Flottenwachstum wird zunehmen – Flottenwachstum wird abnehmen).
 



Es geht nicht um die Abschaffung von Autos, sondern um intelligente und nachhaltige Mobilität (für 55% aller Schweizer Firmen in der Schweiz mit Corporate Social Responsibility Programm ist der CO2-Fussabdruck Teil der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie). Dabei sind Leasinggesellschaften als Mobilitätsanbieter Teil der Lösung (während Hybridfahrzeuge in 26% und Plug-in Hybridfahrzeuge in 20% der Flotten vertreten sind und deren Anteil damit gesunken ist, sind Elektrofahrzeuge in 33% aller Firmenflotten in der Schweiz vertreten).
 



Für Flottenleiter werden in Zukunft Begriffe wie SEAMless-Mobilität (Shared, Electric, Autonomous Mobility), MaaS (Mobility as a Service) oder modalagnostisch (keine Verpflichtung ein Transportmittel zu nutzen) genauso gebräuchlich sein wie heutzutage ABS, Einspritzpumpe oder Zylinderkopf. 29% aller Firmenflotten in der Schweiz planen oder haben bereits eine Alternative (Car Sharing, Velo Sharing, Mobility Budget) zum klassischen Firmenwagen eingeführt.
 



Telematik haftet immer noch der Ruf der Überwachung an – quasi als allsehendes Auge. Jedoch kann sie erheblich die Sicherheit erhöhen, zum Auffinden von verschwundenen Fahrzeugen beitragen und die Wartung von Fahrzeugen reibungslos planbar machen ohne das eine Ortungsfunktion aktiviert ist. Telematik wird nur in 10% aller Firmenfahrzeuge in der Schweiz eingesetzt versus 20% im Rest Europas.
 



Es wird gerne die These diskutiert, dass Firmenfahrzeuge für Mitarbeiter heute nicht mehr wichtig sind. Das Gegenteil ist der Fall. Um gute Mitarbeiter an die Firma zu binden oder neue Talente anzuwerben sind Firmenwagen für Leitende Angestellte mit 59% effektiv, für Führungskräfte 56% und für junge Talente 48%.
 



Eine überdurchschnittlich lange Nutzung von Fahrzeugen verhindert den früheren Einsatz von umweltfreundlicheren Technologien. Insbesondere Märkte mit einem hohen Anteil an Operativem Leasing schöpfen das mögliche Potenzial besonders nachhaltiger Antriebsformen besonders effektiv aus. (In der Schweiz werden Fahrzeuge im Durchschnitt 7.1 Jahre in Firmenflotten gefahren bevor sie verkauft werden versus 5.9 Jahre im Rest Europas. Auch ist die Bereitschaft, Operatives Leasing zu nutzen, in der Schweiz mit 15% gegenüber dem Rest Europas mit 24% sehr gering).
 



Haben Sie fragen zum CVO? Gerne geben wir Ihnen persönlich Auskunft.


Malte Lindberg
Head of Consulting & CVO

malte.lindberg@arval.ch