Corporate Vehicle Observatory

Arval’s Own Independent Think Tank

The Corporate Vehicle Observatory -- Arval's think tank -- was founded in 2002 in France and deployed across 16 Arval countries. The observatory produces an annual barometer analysing industry trends when it comes to fleets, vehicles and mobility across 16 countries. CVO is:

  • completely independent
  • composed of panels of international experts
  • focused on industry trends.
     

We will be happy to provide you with the current study free of charge.
 

DOWNLOAD CVO FLEET BAROMETER 2017

Fleet Barometer 2017: important findings

The Fleet Barometer 2017 was another milestone and was expanded both in scope as well as in the catalogue of questions vis-à-vis the previous years. In total, 3847 interviews were carried out, 3540 in Europe and 297 in Switzerland. The interviews were distributed equally across the four sectors of construction, manufacturing, services and commerce and also across the four company size categories of up to 10 employees, 11 to 99 employees, 100 to 499 employees and 500 and more employees. The most important findings from the 2017 survey are listed below.



Considering how long it usually takes to amend company car guidelines, the speed and strength of purpose with which companies have reacted to the diesel emissions scandal is more than just impressive. In Switzerland, 26% of the big-fleet guidelines have already been adjusted to the new situation compared to a 14% European average.



No modern economy would be able to maintain its current prosperity level if the mobility of goods and people were inhibited. (Asked whether they expect their company fleets to grow or shrink over the next three years, the fleet professionals in Switzerland specified +4 on balance versus +11 for the rest of Europe; on balance = the difference between anticipated growth and shrink figures.)



This is not about banning cars, this is about intelligent and sustainable mobility (the CO2 footprint is a factor in the sustainability strategies of 55% of all Swiss companies in Switzerland that engage in corporate social responsibility programmes), and leasing companies as mobility providers are a part of the solution. (Whilst hybrid vehicles feature in 26% and plug-in hybrids in 20% of the fleets, trending down, electric vehicles feature in 33% of all company fleets in Switzerland.)



In future, fleet managers will be as familiar with terms such as SEAMless mobility (Shared, Electric, Autonomous Mobility), MaaS (Mobility as a Service) and modally agnostic (not required to use a specific means of transport) as they are today with ABS, injection pump and cylinder head. 29% of all company fleets in Switzerland are planning to introduce, or have already introduced, an alternative to the traditional company car (car sharing, bicycle sharing, mobility budget).



Telematics has yet to shake off its reputation as a 'big brother' system, the all-seeing eye, so to speak. However, telematics systems can significantly enhance safety, help recover stolen vehicles, and contribute to smooth maintenance scheduling without the need for an activated location function. Telematics systems are only used in 10% of all company vehicles in Switzerland compared to 20% in the rest of Europe.



The notion that employees no longer see company cars as an important perquisite is the subject of much discussion. The opposite is true. Company cars can be a valuable incentive when it comes to retaining good employees and recruiting new talent (59% effective for top managers, 56% for executive staff, 48% for young talent).



The above-average length of time that vehicles remain in a company fleet is an obstacle to the early introduction of environment-friendly technologies. Markets with a high incidence of operating leasing make especially effective use of the potential provided by efficient and ecological drive technologies. (In Switzerland, vehicles remain in a company fleet for 7.1 years on average before they are sold off compared to 5.9 years for the rest of Europe. Moreover, the readiness to exploit the potential of operating leasing is hardly pronounced in Switzerland – a low 15% versus 24% in the rest of Europe.)



Do you have any questions about the CVO? We will be happy to provide you with information in person.


Malte Lindberg
Head of Consulting & CVO

malte.lindberg@arval.ch

Corporate Vehicle Observatory

La cellule de réflexion indépendante d'Arval

Le  Corporate Vehicle Observatory – cellule de réflexion d'Arval – a été fondé en 2002 en France et a, depuis lors, été déployé dans 16 pays différents. L'observatoire publie chaque année un baromètre qui analyse les tendances du secteur au niveau des parcs automobiles, des véhicules et de la mobilité dans les 16 pays qu'il couvre. CVO est une cellule :

  • totalement indépendante ;
  • composée d'experts internationaux ;
  • qui analyse les tendances du secteur.

Nous avons le plaisir de mettre l’étude actuelle gratuitement à votre disposition.
 

DOWNLOAD CVO BAROMÈTRE DES FLOTTES 2017

Baromètre des flottes 2017 : principales conclusions

Cette année aussi le baromètre des flottes 2017 a représenté un jalon important et a de nouveau été étendu par rapport aux années précédentes, aussi bien dans son ampleur en général que dans la liste des questions. Ainsi, 3847 interviews au total ont été menées, dont 3540 en Europe et 297 en Suisse. Les interviews étaient réparties de manière régulière entre les quatre secteurs construction, secteur industriel, prestations de services et commerce, ainsi qu’entre les quatre catégories de grandeur « jusqu'à 10 employés », « 11 - 99 employés », « 100 - 499 employés » et « 500 employés et plus ». Vous trouverez ci-dessous les principales conclusions tirées du sondage 2017.



Quand on sait combien de temps durent habituellement les adaptations aux directives des voitures d’entreprises, la détermination et la vitesse avec lesquelles les entreprises ont réagi au scandale du diesel sont impressionnantes. 26 % des grandes flottes en Suisse en ont déjà tiré les conséquences, contre 14 % en moyenne en Europe.



Sans la mobilité des personnes et des marchandises, aucune économie nationale moderne ne pourrait maintenir sa prospérité actuelle. (Les flottes d’entreprises vont-elles croître au cours des trois prochaines années ? Selon les exploitants de flottes d’entreprises en Suisse, le solde des réponses donne +4 contre +11 pour leurs collègues en Europe ; le solde est obtenu en additionnant les réponses « la croissance de la flotte augmentera » et en soustrayant les réponses « la croissance de la flotte diminuera »).



Il ne s’agit pas de la suppression de voitures, mais d’une mobilité intelligente et durable (pour 55 % des entreprises suisses du pays ayant un programme de responsabilité sociale, l’empreinte CO2 fait partie d’une stratégie de durabilité). La location de véhicules comme option de mobilité contribue à apporter une solution (tandis que les voitures hybrides constituent 26 % et les voitures hybrides rechargeables 20 % des flottes et que leur part a ainsi baissé, les voitures électriques représentent 33 % de l’ensemble des flottes d’entreprises en Suisse).



Pour les responsables de flottes, des termes tels que mobilité SEAMless (Shared, Electric, Autonomous Mobility), MaaS (Mobility as a Service) ou multimodal (sans obligation d’utiliser un moyen de transport spécifique) seront tout aussi répandus à l’avenir que le sont aujourd’hui ABS, pompe à injection ou culasse de cylindre. 29 % des flottes d’entreprises en Suisse planifient une alternative aux voitures d’entreprises classiques ou ont déjà introduit une telle alternative (covoiturage, vélos en libre-service, budget mobilité).



Dans l’esprit de beaucoup de gens, la télématique continue d’être associée à la surveillance – presque une sorte de Big Brother. Pourtant, la télématique peut contribuer à améliorer grandement la sécurité, à retrouver des véhicules disparus et à faciliter la planification de l’entretien des véhicules sans qu’une fonction de localisation soit activée. La télématique est employée dans seulement 10 % des voitures d’entreprises en Suisse contre 20 % dans le reste de l’Europe.



Certains estiment que les voitures d’entreprises ne sont plus importantes aujourd'hui pour le personnel. Bien au contraire, pour fidéliser les bons collaborateurs à l’entreprise ou pour recruter de nouveaux talents, les voitures d’entreprises sont efficaces pour 59 % des cadres, 56 % des dirigeants et 48 % des jeunes talents.



Une utilisation très longue des véhicules retarde la mise en œuvre de technologies plus écologiques. Or les marchés avec une part élevée de location opérationnelle exploitent de manière plus efficace le potentiel des modes de propulsion particulièrement durables. (En Suisse, les véhicules des flottes d’entreprises sont utilisés en moyenne pendant 7,1 ans avant d’être vendus, contre 5,9 ans dans le reste de l’Europe. En outre, l’usage de la location opérationnelle, dans 15 % des cas en Suisse, est très faible en comparaison avec le reste de l’Europe, où elle s’élève à 24 %).



Avez-vous des questions concernant le CVO ? Nous vous renseignerons volontiers personnellement.


Malte Lindberg
Head of Consulting & CVO

malte.lindberg@arval.ch